Dear B-L-A-C-K

Black-Coffee2

Dear B-L-A-C-K

How can I count the ways, the different shades of color that BLACK represents? How amazing is it to look at BLACK and instantly think of assorted shades you come in. You have dark chocolate, milk chocolate, espresso, caramel, brown sugar, coffee, hot cocoa, I can go on and on. Isn’t it amazing how BLACK is often related to sweet treats and hot sensations? Why wouldn’t BLACK be compared to such deliciousness? It’s also remarkable how the same color that makes us feel so good could also stand for something else to other people, such things as dirt, tar, s&#*. I’ll stop there.

 I was once asked “Do you like being black?” I answered “NO” and they asked “Why?” I quickly answered, “because I get asked stupid questions like that.” Of course, I love the color of my skin. When I think of B-L-A-C-K I break it down to this: Beautiful. Luxurious. African. Cultured. Kween or Bold. Lavish. African. Cultured. King. Yes, I love YOU! You might not be pleasing to everyone but I love every shade, every misstep, and every hardship and struggle that is associated with you. You make us so different from others, and oh how I love being different from the rest of the world. It’s as if we are a box of chocolate, we are all like the same type of chocolate on the outside but on the inside, there is a different flavor. You ask me how different, I say afflictions of a black person. You ask me what do you like about the afflictions, I simply say where there is pain, there is growth.  I wanted to write you this letter to express my gratitude. There is so much more to you than what meets the eye. That’s why this will not be my last letter to you…let’s talk about somethings that wonder through my mind daily. Especially for a black woman. I want to express my COCOA POWER.

Love,

Angel Latrice

 

Leave a Reply

