The Beauty and The Beast

Beauty and the beast is one of my favorite animated movies. To me, it represents unexpected love that is described as ugly and frightening. Now, I’m sure we all know the story about Belle and The Beast, how at first sight there was fear and misfortune but as they started to spend time with each other and learn about one another, all the fear and anger slowly drifted away. She saw the soft side of the beast. She saw how he didn’t like the way people sought him out. He didn’t want to be a bad person, he was just bitter and tired of being judged. But there was beauty in the ugly situations. I feel that beauty and the beast tells a story that all of us can relate to.

As I stated in my letter “Dear Skin I’m in” I reflected on my imperfect skin and I came to find love in my on natural skin. First, I will say that having eczema is not something I gloat about but Its apart of me and has been since I was a child. I would have these major flare ups that would make me itch to the point of me bleeding. Yes, that’s how serious it was. Over the years, I learned how to control my eczema so that I could be comfortable and not embarrassed but also still have my identity. I was picked on because I had dark spots on my arms, legs, and neck. I just shunned them away by just covering my skin up so that no one would see it. As the years went on I started to find myself in my eczema filled skin. I began to like my skin. I accepted it, eczema had become my beast, my beauty inside of the beast.

So, hear me when I say, don’t hate your flaw. Embrace your flaw. I believe that GOD gave us an imperfection so that we could see the beauty in simple wreckage. Find your soft side from whatever breaks you from feeling beautiful. What’s your Beast?

 

If you suffer from eczema as well, here’s a few items I found that help me improve my skin daily:

 

One thought on “The Beauty and The Beast

  1. Wow! Our beasts are so far reaching and at the same time too close! Sometimes its easier to ignore that snarling monster or make it seem worse than it is. Such a human response! Flight or fight plays in our minds before it becomes a physical manifestation. We all have to learn to use our courage, despite of our fear!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

